North Shields 7 Penrith AFC 0 (27/09/2018) – Resounding win for rampant Robins

A terrific second half performance from the Robins saw them progress through to the Second Round of the Brooks Mileson Memorial League Cup at the expense of Penrith.

A goal early on in the first half from Sean McRoberts gave the hosts a deserved lead into the break.

And two goals for Lewis Suddick, one more from McRoberts and efforts from Matty Cornish, Jordan Summerly and Ben Sampson in the second half meant bad news for the Bonny Blues.

Right from the opening whistle, the Robins, off the back of a disappointing defeat at Stockton, began to dominate the game and caused the Penrith defence a world of trouble.

The Robins support only had to wait until the tenth minute for the opening goal as McRoberts, who has impressed since signing from Blyth AFC, found himself in enough space to be able to strike the ball past the Penrith shot-stopper from six yards out.

McRoberts seemed to be in the mood today and in the 22nd minute, he once again tried his luck on goal, only for Forrester in the Penrith goal to pull off a smart save.

The visitors, in search of a much needed victory, began to carve their way into the game and in the 31st minute, a good run from Rhys Graham was only stopped by excellent defending from Curtis Coppen.

Penrith should really have pulled a goal back in the 36th minute, however, Dan Lister, who was making his competitive debut in goal for the Robins, pulled off a magnificent triple save to preserve his side’s lead heading into the break.

As the second half began, it was clear that Shields were not satisfied with a single goal lead as right from the get go, Cornish had two good runs through the Penrith defence pulled back for offside.

However, a second goal was just on the horizon as in the 56th minute, a break down the left hand side forced the desperate Penrith defence to back peddle. Following a couple of desperate blocks, Summerly crashed his shot in off the post; with the referee judging the ball to have crossed the line.

Only two minutes later, Coppen came within a whisker of adding a third goal, only for his effort at the back post to skip inches wide of the post.

Following a breakup in play, the Robins finally got their third goal when substitute Sampson volleyed a good cross from the right hand side into the centre of the net; providing the hosts with their first goal off the bench so far this season in the 73rd minute.

With the Bonny Blues wilting under the intense pressure, it was no surprise to see the Robins increase their lead further. In the 77th minute, McRoberts grabbed his second and the hosts fourth when he capitalised on a goalmouth scramble by side footing the ball into the bottom corner of the net from close range.

With the home supporters still celebrating their sides brilliant performance so far, both Suddick and Cornish, who was celebrating his 21st birthday, added two goals in two minutes to bring the hosts lead to 6-0.

Every time the Robins brought the ball forwards, it seemed that a goal was almost certain to occur and in the 8rd minute, Suddick grabbed his second of the game when he fired the ball into the roof of the net after the ball was cut back from the touchline.

The youngster even had a chance of securing a brilliant hattrick with only two minutes to spare in the game, however, having broken through on goal, a good save from Forrester denied the winger his fourth goal of the season.

Soon afterwards, the referee saw mercy and brought the game to an end; meaning that the Robins will travel the short distance to face Whitley Bay in the Second Round of the Brooks Mileson Memorial League Cup.

North Shields Starting Eleven: Dan Lister, Jack Donnison, Jordan Summerly, David Hall (Ben Sampson 63), Curtis Coppen, Liam McNamara (Kevin Hughes 50), Lewis Suddick, Adam Forster, Sean McRoberts, Ryan Carr (Jack Cooper 71), Matty Cornish.

Yellow Cards: Jordan Summerly

Unused Substitutes: Paul Robinson & Gary Ormston

Penrith Starting Eleven: Stuart Forrester, Thomas Fagan (Daniel Burrus 68), Jordan Lawson, Hayden Wilson, Michael Yarker, Grant Davidson, William Paul, Matthew Moynan, Herve Buka, Rhys Graham (James Smith 68), Ellis Pearson.

Yellow Cards: Thomas Fagan, Jordan Lawson, Michael Yarker