Shields held to a 1-1 draw at Stockbridge

North Shields unlucky to not walk away with three points away at Stocksbridge after a Tom Potter penalty.

Shields started the game with Liam Doyle entering the fold and Antonio Aghostino returning to the bench after an injury.

The Robins were the better of the two sides in the first half with both sides having 1 shot on target in the first half. Shields being the more dominant of the two sides.

Shields were awarded a penalty on the 19th minute with Dan Wilson stepping up but Ben Townsend making his debut in goal made a good safe on his left.

Tom Potter and Stephen Forster being the stand out men in the first half down the right hand side causing lots of problems.

Shields were unlucky not to be ahead at the break with two golden opportunities through Connor Oliver and Paul Van-Zandvliet which went amiss.

Half time 0-0

In front of a crowd of 192 saw Shields again start brightly with Shields being awarded a free kick 25 yards out in which Connor Oliver took and managed to hit the upright and Paul Van-Zandvliet unable to slot the rebound in.

Shields were then awarded another penalty on the 75th Minute with David Robinson being brought down to the ground and the referee pointed straight to the spot.

Up stepped Tom Potter this time who found his spot and smashed the ball into the back of the net.


Stocksbridge then started to apply pressure in the closing 5 minutes with Shields unable to keep ahold of the ball.


Substitute Youmbi then picked the ball up from 25 yards out and sent a shot towards goal ending up in the back of the net.

FULL TIME: Stocksbridge 1-1 North Shields

Stocksbridge Park Steels: 1 Ben Townsend, 2 Leigh Whelan, 3 Jack Tinker, 4 Mitchell Langton, 5 Charlie Oglesby, 6 Elliot Murray (John Oluleye 86′), 7 Kurtis Turner, 8 Ross Goodwin , 9 Tomas Poole, 10 Lewis Macaskill , 11 Ify Ofoegbu (Dylan Youmbi 72′)

Subs: 12 Keegan Townrow, 14 Alex O’Connor, 15 Dylan Youmbi , 16 John Oluleye, 17 Andrew Ring

North Shields: 1 Finlay Hodgson, 2 Stephen Forster , 3 Chris McDonald, 4 Liam Doyle, 5 Tom Bexton, 6 Jack Walker, 7 Tom Potter (Antonio Agostinho 84′), 8 Connor Oliver, 9 Dan Wilson, 10 Paul Van-Zandvliet(David Robinson 70′), 11 Regan Paterson(Cameron Cunningham 70′)

Subs: 12 Dan Turner, 14 David Robinson, 15 Antonio Agostinho, 16 JJ Chrisp, 17 Cameron Cunningham